Creative Writing program at CCCC

Aug. 8, 2011

I haven’t mentioned my writing lately. I’ve submitted articles to several magazines and a couple of contests the past couple months, and am enjoying using my writing again. My English degree has been gathering dust for years, and is finally getting tuned up. Chatham County Community College has a certificate program in creative writing, and I’ve taken several courses in that program. I might have an English degree, but creative writing was not available in my college, so this is a valuable exposure to ways to create and analyze my writing. When I get to 50 submissions, as Steven King says in his very helpful book, On Writing, I may expect to finally see a publication. I’m only at about 16 now, so I’ll keep you posted!

Most recent classes were Nancy Peacock’s all-day workshop, Melissa Deldridge’s “Creative Non-Fiction,” and Marjorie Hudson’s “Fiction Writing.” I’m now in Tim McKee’s “Write where you are.” These authors are delightful to listen to, have many solid writing techniques, and each one has vastly different experiences with writing, and each is very helpful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

